Poets logo

happiness

/ what does happy even mean?

By Tommy BallardPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
3
happiness
Photo by Nagara Oyodo on Unsplash

I had a conversation last night that ran deep

For the first time in a while, I was asked if I was happy.

We both laughed and scoffed, I didn't need to answer,

But it led us both to reflect together and ponder.

What even is happiness?

We asked each other

Perhaps it's what you feel when there's no chasing left to be done

We reasoned maybe we'd just not known it for the rat races run

But then I suggested, what if that's wrong?

What if it's a fugazi, a fraud, a lie and a con?

What if it's just a moment in time?

A minute little window between reality's grinds.

It was a sobering thought though melancholic in spirit,

Maybe it's not a state you'll reach one day and let tomorrow inherit.

The older I get the less about happiness I seem to know,

Maybe to be happy really is an illusion and perhaps to know it I'll always forego.

So what even is happiness?

I can't say I know

But I hope one day I'll bask in it's glow.

.

.

social commentaryStream of ConsciousnessFree VerseFor Fun
3

About the Creator

Tommy Ballard

I'm a professional writer, a poet, a digital artist and an amateur musician. In my free time, I can often be found pondering magnets, breaking and entering random homes to steal locks of human hair and throwing car batteries into the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    Such a fickle thing it can be, happiness, especially when it can mean many different things to different people. I really enjoyed the writing and insight in this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.