Poets logo

Happiness Casts a Shadow

That missing piece of you

By Simon GeorgePublished 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
3
Happiness Casts a Shadow
Photo by Blake Cheek on Unsplash

I walk through the valley of a thousand shadows of lost loves. Not corpses, not even ghosts, because my love never died. They never let it live. It just followed them around until they abandoned me. A man without a shadow.

But Neverland is not the place for me. I'm not afraid of growing old, but growing old alone frightens me. To have lived but never loved isn't really living. That's not the fairytale we're told. The greatest gift in life is not to get old but to get there whole. There's another person out there lost or hiding, growing old without me. A piece of my soul that's meant for me, but if you love them, set them free, what is meant to be will be.

But that is not the truth to me. It's a burden of love greater than what I'm meant to be. I seek, I seek, I seek until I find that missing part of me. I'm fully sold on the tales of old. Love is worth it all. Greater than my weight in gold. There's no money in the world worth as much as you will be to me. The most priceless thing in this galaxy.

When I find you, and I will find you. You'll reunite me with the rest of me, and we'll piece together like history. An unavoidable destiny, no matter how many times I doubted your existence. Call it fate or, chance or persistence. It doesn't matter. I will simply will you into my existence. I think you. I dream you and write love poems about you. Create stories in mind that intertwine with my heart to bandage over the place that waits for you.

If I could fly, you'd be the happy thought that makes it so. You'll be my stardust. Call it magic. When our eyes meet for the first time, we'll both feel it. They'll be no illusion or sleight of hand. The world will simply change as much as it ever can.

_______________________

© Simon George 2023. All Rights Reserved.

sad poetrylove poems
3

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    This was absolutely magical! Such a wonderful prose!

  • As J. Michael Straczynski said, "All love is unrequited. All of it. Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage. Don't forget to love yourself. Love cures people - both the ones who give it and the ones who receive it." True love gives of itself to the beloved without asking anything in return. Oh, that it were so simple as merely finding your other half. But for most, the reality simply is not so & they/we are left with a choice: either to learn what it is to love truly or abandon the conquest & continue the search. Yet the myth remains beautifully & appropriately powerful for us, continuing to fill us with hope. And so may it always be.

  • Great job on this one❤️💯😉📝👌🎬

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.