Poets logo

Happily Disconnected

The, Not Redheaded Stepchild / Family Facade

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Happily Disconnected
Photo by Marianna Smiley on Unsplash

DONE!

I’ve had enough

Suppressing my emotions and opinions on your crap

The way you separate and keep me further than arms “link”

Really enforces how you feel

About

Crowds bigger

Than three

I thought being the youngest

Opened arms to family

Now I’m convinced that kind of sentiment is meant for everyone but me

slam poetry
9

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    Ouch, this was short and painful - like a boxer's jab to the face. Well done for putting it out there, that takes guts ❤

  • It's rough being the odd person out, no matter the circumstances. But within a family, it can be both devastating & alienating. Editorial Note: In the line, "The way you separate and keep me further than arms link," did you mean "link" or "length"? "Arms length" is the common phrase, though there's something about "arms link" that fascinates & intrigues me. It causes me to pause since it's unexpected &, at the same time, makes me consider what it is to keep someone distant by linking arms with others. If it's a typo, I almost want to encourage you to keep it. It lingers in the mind in a way that the common phrase doesn't, deepening the meaning.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Short, simple, but carries a powerful punch!!! Loving it!!!💖💖💕

  • Relatable and Creative as always❤️💯❗

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    I love this one!! Simple but powerful!! Great job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.