Poets logo

Half-awake

teacher stress dreams

By Christopher MichaelPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Half-awake
Photo by Feliphe Schiarolli on Unsplash

New year

New tries

Day 1, 2, 3

already boulders on my shoulders

student A with the phone

glowing on burning in

shift high broken eyes

the snickers and whines

the pleas and the pests

crawling into the bug traps

I don't care to check

like a long list of emails

eternally left to data dust.

Arrive on time my door is locked

the heater finally works

but it's all shit

rain in January

and yet so many say the change

is chance and a fake align,

so now I blink

the morning is black

cold crusted snow

late to work

is this the dream where

it's already third period

and principal waits to fire me

then I wake and my alarm

long since silenced,

this was no lucid dream

this is reality's daze

strung from full moon to full moon

my mind is a bog

won't wake and won't sleep

and in all the blinks

dreams

and cracking bank accounts

a year supposedly passed

and another will

half awake

eternally stressed

sad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Christopher Michael

High school chemistry teacher with a passion for science and the outdoors. Living in Utah I'm raising a family while climbing and creating.

My stories range from thoughtful poems to speculative fiction, fantasy, sci-fi, and thriller/horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.