Poets logo

Half a Cup or so

Empty or Full?

By Darin LeighPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Bianca Gonçalves from Pexels

Early in the morning, I open my eyes to the slap of icicles disguised as air against my face.

As I lay in bed, I wish sleep would capture me once more and take me away from the odious wind and the pungent scent of mildew brought in by the rain.

My dearth of rest smothers me with discomfort.

I reluctantly stomp into my generic slippers and rub my aching eyes as I plummet into my lumpy robe and tie it too tight around my half-frozen figure.

My lazy Lucy is slumped in the corner, still asleep, as I wish I could be.

A whiff of coffee hits my nose.

I wonder if I burned it and if half a cup will suffice.

Flip the hourglass … Rewind … Take two.

Early in the morning, I open my eyes to the tingle of chilled air softly kissing my face.

As I unwrap myself from the covers, my skin meets crisp air, and the perfume of raindrops douses my heart in contentment.

I slip into my cozy slippers and smile to the sky as I fold my freshly laundered robe around my slightly chilled form.

The fluffy figure of Lucy curled in the corner, still asleep, draws a smile across my face.

The ethereal aroma of freshly-brewed coffee fills the room and lures me near.

I get up to indulge in half a cup or so.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Darin Leigh

Just the ramblings of an artist in her 20s. I write a lot of unplanned poetry. I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.