Poets logo

HAIRY SCARY

A Limerick

By Babs IversonPublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
18
Image by kalhh from Pixabay

Once there was a hairy green comb.

That came from somewhere inside Rome.

Pulled out people's hair,

leaving bald spots there.

Now, hairy green comb has no home.

Writer's Notes: Miracles can and do happen. It's a miracle that I've written a second Limerick that will be submitted to the challenge.

Loving all the comments left by the Vocal Facebook group readers, your feedback has inspired me to write another. This time, it's HAIRY SCARY

Memories

At our rural school, we didn't learn about Limerick poems. However, I do have vivid memories of my third-grade class. During the annual Christmas gift exchange, I received two quarters from our teacher who pulled my name. For a seven-year-old, it was painful watching classmates playing with their gifts. However, that was pale in comparison to the neuralgia's sharp shocking pains on my right jaw while trying to learn and do 3rd-grade math.

When I learned about Limericks, it was in the 7th grade. The English teacher along with my classmates had great fun writing Limericks. I really struggled. The experience left an indelible impression on my brain.

Dear Readers, You are appreciated. Please leave a heart, a comment, or both. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you so very much!

surreal poetryperformance poetry
18

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Millsteed about a year ago

    Love this Babs. Well done my friend.

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Hair woes. Oh my. It is that green time of year. Cute Limerick.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    πŸ’šI'm sure there is many guy and a girl who would like to have out with that comb πŸ’š Cute limerick ☘️

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Funny in a sad way

  • Nice JobπŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ‘πŸ€βœ¨

  • Excellent

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Excellent πŸ₯³πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ’ƒπŸ½πŸ‘

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Awesome! BRAVO! You're a natural at this Babs!

  • I'm so sorry that your past experiences with limerick was unpleasant πŸ₯Ί You did a fantastic job on this one!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thank you for sharing your limericks Babs! I hope this challenge feels more welcoming and less stressful than what happened back in that classroom. :)

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Good one Babs!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You've done it! Written two now, you're on a roll :) This was so funny!!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I liked the limerick but TWO QUARTERS who gives two quarters wth I can’t imagine how that felt

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful, my friend. Love it.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    You're on a roll Babs! Great job!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This was great! I’m so glad you are taking this chance to write limericks again after not enjoying them in school. You are really good at it!!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Aha ! Now I know the culprit. πŸ˜‚

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Aha ! Now I know the culprit. πŸ˜‚

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    A wonderful limerick! I think that comb visited me a few times.

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    This Limerick has a fun and playful tone, and the rhyming scheme works well to tell a humorous story about a mischievous comb that causes bald spots.πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.