Poets logo

HaShem Gave Me Makeup

A free-verse poem about my unique and natural beauty

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
iPhone selfie taken at a local park on May 18 2021. Retrieved from my FB profile.

All these years, I didn’t need to wear crimson red lipstick, onyx black mascara, glittery eyeshadow or blush on my face. HaShem gave me rosy-red lips, inky black eyelashes, pearl white skin and fuchsia cheeks. He spoiled me with thick, luscious, shiny, wavy auburn-brown tresses He calls my crown. He showered me with magnificent and fabulous cobalt blue eyes that sparkle like sapphirine gemstones. My present from HaShem was natural beauty, because He believed that it would be the most important thing for a female to keep. Till this day, He forbids me to reject, conceal, discard and take it for granted. Every single day I rise and shine, He tells me, “My Dear Talia, you are nothing but a naturally beautiful lady. Don’t let anyone steal your natural beauty. Don’t let anyone insult you. They are just envious of this elegant gift I gave you at birth”.

iPhone selfie taken at a local park on May 13 2021. Retrieved from my FB profile.

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my prose poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more of my Vocal publications, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile. Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal! Until next time!

IG Account: @naturalbibliophile22

Facebook: Talia Devora (please connect with me through FB groups like Vocal Creators Saloon and Vocal Society Society)!

Medium Profile:

AllPoetry Profile:

Photograph taken in 2004. Retrieved from my FB profile.

#naturalbeauty #loveyourself #hashemsgift #selflove #selfrespect #inspirationalpoetry #prosepoetry #positivevibes #spiritualjourney #healingwithpoetry #ilovemyself #gratitude #selfappreciation

*Authors Note: In Judaism, HaShem (lit. The Name) is the word that's used to refer to God.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.