Poets logo

Gunshots Under Golden Arches

And a Woman in Red

By Bex JordanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Blue Moonlight

Traveling to the Tragic Kingdom

We stop for sustenance

Under Golden Arches.

All I want is a burger and an

Icy soda, I can almost taste

The sticky-sweet liquid fizz.

I join the line–it's long

Despite the hour,

The street bathed

In blue moonlight

Shining from a recent rain.

I fall,

and nearly drop my meal

When we hear staccato gunshots,

Too close,

Only a block away.

Tires squeal as patrons flee

But my vehicle is gone.

I run inside the restaurant

Where I cower with others,

Hands clasped while we

Wait in sacred silence

For bullets to

Burst through glass

And tear our world apart…

...OOO...

Cut to a dark room,

And a beautiful Woman in Red,

We move in unison, and

I'm kissing her as we lay entwined,

Our bodies pressed

Together, the fear and guns

Forgotten, (though my heartbeat

pounds as hard, harder still)

and I am falling as she fills

My senses, feather-soft and warm

Beneath me, wrapped

Around my waist,

My hands catch in

The shimmering strands of her

Hair, I try not to

Pull too much, but I am

Losing control, my

Head spins, dizzy from

The amber scent of her…

...OOO...

I wake alone in twisted sheets

With an echo of drumbeats and

The honeyed taste of lips on mine.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Barbara D Pyndus, galaxybabs, SerendipitySpeaksArtabout a year ago

    i like it but it feels like 2 poems to me, the first half is quite good and i get it all happens in one day but something feels too abrupt in the midsection, hope you dont mind the constructive critique...im new to the routine of it all

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.