Poets logo

Gumpp

Gumpp

By Sheng LongPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

When you see me you see what maybe seen is a foolish man

You ask yourself, why is he so eccentric?

What made him say, do, or ask that?

To you, I might be stupid as stupid does

My expression maybe dull in your eyes

The expression on my unwitty face maybe be straight and strange

What you would call unwelcoming,

but behind this stone wall lies a virtueous heart

Sometimes as I swell in what you would call my turtle shell

I dream of running and running in till my soul feels free

Of the worry and sorrow this existence of suffering brings

Sometimes I try to run from my struggles

But the path seems to stretch acres wide

Before my feet can touch the pavement

Each movement unhurried, as my toes reach out in such a robotic motion

My soul longs to ascend beyond this plain

Like a feather flowing within the wind

As my body remains still and restless

My mind remains apprehened by the hollow spirit seated next to me

I speak endlessly with the hope that some kind soul

Wouldn't mind sharing a seat with me, but noone cares to sit there

And like the wings of heaven, maybe one day

You will see the light that lies within and share an experience with me

And just maybe, just maybe for one day, I wouldn't be the but of the joke

Because you would laugh with me and not at me

When you see me you see what maybe seen is a foolish man

You ask yourself, why is he so eccentric?

What made him say, do, or ask that?

To you, I might be stupid as stupid does

My expression maybe dull in your eyes

The expression on my unwitty face maybe be straight and strange

What you would call unwelcoming,

but behind this stone wall lies a virtuous heart

Not a joke, not a strange man, but a soul that is indelibly Gumpp

inspirationalsad poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetryvintageheartbreak

About the Creator

Sheng Long

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sheng Long is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Sheng LongWritten by Sheng Long

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.