Poets logo

Guilty

Cecelia Johnson

By Cecelia Johnson Published 2 years ago 1 min read
4

Breath has never come easy to my lungs.

Reminding my chest to move and expand

Reminding my body that she is alive

I feel guilt with this

My bones have never wronged me.

My skin has never thrown insults.

And yet my lips whisper to them in harsh words

My eyes are those of another

Picking out her wrong doings

Seeking the blasphemies my body was born with

My veins are made of this earth.

Built from dirt and sunlight

And yet my mind remains human

Hands grasping at imagined complications

My soul repeats

How dare I look at the beauty of this earth

Of these trees and this life surrounding me

And not see myself in it

How dare we treat these bodies as if they are not the same as those

Not the same as the sky we fondly watch

The trees we talk to in silence

The earth we were born from

My bones have never wronged me

My skin has never thrown insults

I will teach my lips to speak kindly to them

Whispering praise and thanks

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Cecelia Johnson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • malik zahoor2 years ago

    Great words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.