Poets logo

Guilt Ridden

by Lolly Vieira

By Lolly VieiraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Guilt Ridden
Photo by Freysteinn G. Jonsson on Unsplash

It weighs in my stomach

like I swallowed an anchor.

Rusted into my lower colon,

it's simultaneously a hanging picture frame on my frontal lobe

(like the one in the hallway you broke)

telling me what not to do.

But I'll never forget the way you looked at me;

the way I screamed and you shrank makes my stomach anchor drop.

This weight can't be removed so easily.

I can't outrun it.

It stays stuck to my ankles.

Like you did when you grabbed my leg.

Over and over flesh met flesh

as we rolled on the ground in a cloud of fists.

I see it in my head at night when you're sleeping.

When you breathe softly and the scars and scabs

on your face, head, and hands

all glimmer in the faint light

and dance around as if they aren't the stars of the worst night of our lives-

as if they don't make me want to cry.

My own bruises weep back in reply

and they pull the heavy stomach anchor through to the middle of the Earth.

I am stuck.

How can we move past this when I can barely move anymore?

I'm so sorry.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lolly Vieira

Welcome to my page where I make sense of all the facets of myself through poetry and short stories.

I'm an artist of many mediums and strive to know and do better every day.

https://linktr.ee/lollyslittlelovelies

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.