Poets logo

Guess

As if giving up love was about drifting afloat.

By ótomundiPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2
The top pick, out of my dreams.

I appreciate, she depreciates.

Serves her beauty to the mass as a piece of cake.

Leaves the boys standing out for her lemonade.

Then decide to come and see me for her chocolate.

Walking at her place, once I felt amazed.

Now she rushes to be bad, and I feel delayed.

Staring at her sunny photos on my cloudy days.

Tried to save her from these villains, but it is super late.

I guess in some way, she does feel okay.

Being flattered by their comments, keeping them at bay.

Trusting them enough to dictate her value.

Until I cannot count the zeros on the price to pay.

Stopped calling my phone so late, so often.

Understood how she was adding drops to an ocean.

Kept dreaming of a silk dress passion.

Then she woke up to realize it is made of cotton.

Guess she will wake up when she gets it all.

Guess she will wake up when she is all alone.

Guess she will wake up when she is getting old.

Guess she will wake up cause she let me go.

Guess she will wake up in the middle of the wild,

Like an Amazonian foster child.

Guess she will wake up when the vipers get exiled,

And the caimans let me swim in the Nile.

I would take her off the flow.

Just for once, I will not do it.

No self on, turn it off.

It is her choice to click through it.

Otherwise, I will break it all, break it all.

She will collect her pieces on the ground.

Break the boat, I’ll break the boat.

Find another passion as I am switching routes.

She might want to see me for the last time,

Or meet me on the ocean, not on timelines.

Out of my dreams, she is a top pick,

Unless she wakes up to this bottom line.

Guess she will wake up when she gets it all.

Guess she will wake up when she is all alone.

Guess she will wake up when she is getting old.

Guess she will wake up cause she let me go.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

ótomundi

antique and contemporary African art lover, from Luanda & Andalucia.

visit me at www.otomundi.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.