Poets logo

"Guarding the Heart: Why Keeping a Distance Can Be the Best Choice!"

Poem

By FahimPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I keep a distance, far from near,

From those who may bring pain and fear.

Their words can cut, their actions sting,

So I keep my heart from suffering.

The hurt and pain can leave a scar,

A wound that's deep and leaves a mark.

So I'll keep my distance, stay apart,

And guard my soul, my fragile heart.

It's not that I don't want to be close,

But I need to protect what matters most.

So I'll keep a distance, safe and sound,

Until the right person comes around.

With time and patience, wounds can heal,

And pain can fade, become less real.

But the memories of hurt and strife,

Can stay with us for all our life.

So I'll keep my distance, for a while,

Until my heart can learn to smile.

Until I find those who bring joy,

And not just pain, to this girl and boy.

The world is full of beauty and light,

But also shadows that dim our sight.

So I'll tread carefully, step by step,

And keep my heart from any more regret.

slam poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Fahim

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Fahim is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.