Poets logo

Growing Cold

rest in peace

By Kendra J. AnthonyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

The days are growing cold, and nights never felt this empty. My thoughts are getting old, but missing you is more than plenty.

When the sun peaks over the horizon, after another sleepless night. I think of your pretty face, praying you'll appear in my plain sight. Sometimes I think I see you, sometimes I get a sign. but then im forced to remember that its all just in my mind.

Id join you in heart beat, just to hear your laugh again. but I have an unfinished mission, so here I shall remain.

My love for you is endless. You took up my full heart. Instead of losing a piece, the whole damn thing fell apart.

You use to say you "love me more", argurments would arise. Holding hands until they got sore, "equal" until one of us dies. An argument I wish i'd never won, a memory embedded with sighs. To hold your hand one more time, to say our real goodbyes.

If I see the light again, I'd know i've found your face. Cause the light went out the moment you left, the darkness took over your place.

Look after me and keep me safe, like you did so well before. and soon enough, we can finally relax, in our tiny hut next to the shore.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Kendra J. Anthony

She was a gnomist, a writer of beliefs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.