Poets logo

Growing

It takes two to tango; no one deserves a one-sided love.

By Finn BuddPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

They are why I was scared to approach you in the

First place.

For who would love a bird with a broken wing

And only a half-hearted song to

Sing?

But I cannot control this seizing in my chest.

The familiar ache and pain

Sending flashbacks of the why's and what happened

What did I do wrong?

But I cannot ask you these things nor can I

Dwell on them.

For you still don't know how you make my heart

Race

and my knees

Quiver.

Words that often flow so easily from my fingertips

Halt.

For there are no words that could describe this feeling that

Overwhelms me with your very

Existence.

The how or why the things in the past happened somehow don't

Concern me anymore.

You make it possible for me to

Rewrite history.

I had thought that I had met the love of my life,

Lived in delusions of what love was supposed to be

And what all I actually deserved.

Then you came

A little later in life

And showed me what it meant to be

Loved.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Finn Budd

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.