Poets logo

Grief

Black

By Sarah Michelle Ritchie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Grief
Photo by Kristina Tripkovic on Unsplash

Feelings I felt, that I don’t anymore

Black words pervading my every thought

Times that are harder than ever before

Knowing that I’m not one half anymore.

Darkness I see, where the sunlight once cast

Thick, heavy tears running down my face fast

People around, but the space in between vast

Trying to run the race, coming in last.

Drowning in substance that’s crushing my heart

Suffocating silence, since we are apart

Trying, but not knowing quite where to start

Forms of expression, life imitates art.

Black is the colour that runs through my veins

A shell of protection against all the rain

A blanket of comfort as I go insane

Black is the colour of all of my pain.

For him.

By Sarah Michelle Ritchie

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Sarah Michelle Ritchie

I’m starting over!

After losing my husband, home and career in the space of 14 months, I’m trying to get going again.

Now, I have the time to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.