Poets logo

Grey

Absence

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Grey
Photo by Lou Batier on Unsplash

No burst of colour through my window in your absence

Everything is a chorus of grey

"but you love grey!"

I hear you say as you chime through my mind, as you do every day

Once upon a time

That may have been true,

but now I love nothing without you

I'll get up,

but by no means will I get through

I'll never love anything

Unless it's you

They tell me time will help me stand again,

but they will never understand...

I guess...

You are the burst of colour on every rainy day

Your absence makes everything a chorus of grey,

and it hurts me more than I'll ever say

but until you light up my life again

It will forever be

A chorus of grey

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Test7 months ago

    Fabulous piece! I got a bit tangled up on the "They" versus. All in all, I enjoyed the read. Thanks,

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    This is wonderful, even with the sadness. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Melancholy!!! Brilliantly written!!! Left some love!!!❤️❤️💕

  • This was so sad. Loved your poem!

  • Test7 months ago

    🤍 The colours will come. Slowly but winter has to pass, its an inevitability xTake care x

Frankie MartinelliWritten by Frankie Martinelli

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.