Poets logo

Greek Fire

I am relentless

By Anna TorresPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Greek Fire
Photo by Sumit Saharkar on Unsplash

Heights are exhilarating. The fall is supreme. Accelerating higher and higher until I can no longer see. I imagine the fall to be forgiving but it is my fear that will be my undoing. Relentless, gravity is my enemy. I struggle against the forces that seek to claim reign over me. You don't define me, you cannot have me. Plummeting like an arrow, the pavement greets me. There is no going back, we will never be free. Don't look down in case you lose your nerve. In case you lose your appetite, you might get what you deserve. I watch myself soar above the Greek fire. An elaborate spectacle, full of arrows I've admired. A soothing death meant to end my suffering. I don't believe in reincarnation. We won't return once we leave. I lament my fragile broken wings. Jumping off buildings just isn't the same thing. I crave a doubtless display of constant energy. A sudden surge of adrenaline with no hesitation, no apathy. But I can't undo all of my past mistakes. All I never accomplished, all my agony creates. I covet angel rust and fairy dust. Will I rise above the mundane? Is regret a must? Heights never frightened me. It's the fall that scares the hell out of me. A leap of faith into glorious legend. If I must fail first, then I hope I will be the one to rise again after all this

sad poetrysurreal poetryStream of Consciousness

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.