Poets logo

Gray

a poem

By Alexandra HeatwolePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Winner of True Colors Challenge
25
Gray
Photo by ariyan Dv on Unsplash

"Dye them," said Mama. "Or pull them out

the moment they appear."

I sat on the cool marble sink,

short legs dangling from the edge,

watching as the silvery strands

drifted toward the drain.

My mother's face in the mirror,

all concentration:

Death to the invaders.

I asked aloud

what was wrong with

gray?

Her reply, automatic:

"One day, you'll understand--

you just can't let them see."

So I readied myself for the onslaught,

dreading the day

the gray would come for me.

But when I saw

the first wiry marauders

I didn't have the heart

for follicular homicide.

It seemed to me

that gray

was an autobiography

written on my body

for everyone to see.

Gray

was a village crier,

boasting in the square

that I had had adventures,

survived my battles,

and grown up strong.

I was a tree--

my wrinkled skin the bark--

and gray

my shining autumn leaves.

Remembering my mother,

plucking stories from her scalp,

discarding them like torn out pages,

I left the gray

to grow and spread.

"Come," I told the conquering silver army.

"Come show the world

that I have lived."

social commentary
25

About the Creator

Alexandra Heatwole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.