Poets logo

Gratitude Poem

11/15/20

By Katherine J. ZumpanoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
“for new leaves sprouting / from my philodendron”

I am grateful

for today / for my health / for my family’s health / for

these four walls and the roof above me and the door

I often stay behind / for waking up

next to someone I love / for fresh-baked cookies

in the fridge, and even for

the bitter dark roast I drank with breakfast / for

the Ten of Cups I pulled from the deck last night and for used

books stacked on my shelf that smell like other places,

that take me away from here

for just a moment / for new leaves sprouting

from my philodendron. I’m even grateful for

endless notebooks in which I scribble words and worries about

this — all of this. I’m grateful for the rain

outside my window, each drop reminding me

I am alive and have something to write about.

I have to write

about something. I’m grateful for a lot of things during

a time when it is hard almost impossible to feel

gratitude. Guilt gnaws at me, asks,

“why do you get to feel content,

even for a moment?” I do not know.

If this is contentment, then it is precarious and

uncertain, lingering in liminal space. It cannot remain

here forever. But

at this moment, at least, I am grateful.

inspirational

About the Creator

Katherine J. Zumpano

poet & writer in the pnw

wwu alum

pieces in southchild lit, jeopardy mag & more

social media: @kjzwrites

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katherine J. ZumpanoWritten by Katherine J. Zumpano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.