Poets logo

Grandpa’s Pool

Nostalgia is an important human tool

By Alec FischmannPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like
Instagram: @afflictioninfruition

Sun glistens upon the open water

Of the pool that’s heated with my warmest memories.

It’s in there I learned how to swim to survive

And though not realized until my youth had long past

It’s in there I learned the meaning of life.

Countless days with countless hours swimming from dawn to dusk

Playing games that could only derive from the mind of a child.

Through that gate to the holy land, the sun always shined brighter.

There were no worries around that poolside.

There was no stress. There were no cares.

Just a couple of kids enjoying life

Luxuriating in lounge chairs.

The meaning of life is to enjoy the small pleasures

The ones that force you to smile

That take away your worries in life

Like when you were once a child.

AF

This is a poem I wrote back on good old May fifth of 2016. This was a date during a period of time in my life where poetry and writing were really good releases for me to express a lot of thoughts, feelings, and emotions (negative and positive). I was still very unaware of the power of words and manifestation back then, but intuitively, I knew it just felt good to write it down.

Nowadays I try to write and share the works in a positive light only. Words are a truly powerful thing to express into the universe, and our thoughts and words give others great insight about how others can view our realities.

Though I wrote many other pieces of work that I no longer would really stand by or agree with anymore, this is one that I do enjoy, so I hope you do too.

Don’t forget to mindlessly play like a child sometime. Often. Especially as an adult. 🤪

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alec Fischmann

I’m 24, male, trying my best to be my best, working on humaning, and I think I’m doing a decent job so far but I love feedback!🤙🏼 Awareness and consciousness are important to me right now so let’s figure out how to life together🙏🏼🕉🌺

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.