Poets logo

Grandmother, Dear Grandmother

Everything I learned..

By DeEtta MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

One of twenty children,

Born to labor on a farm.

You escaped to the big city,

Finally loved for all your charm.

You were my role model,

As grandmother I became.

I loved the un-wed mother,

Branded with archaic shame.

A mother working full-time

All your childbearing life,

Exhaustion filled your days,

Being worker, mom and wife.

Grandpa was blessed by you.

Claimed he “did you a favor.”

Gave your bastard a name.

Thanks! Alcoholic Savior…

Grandpa’s son was born.

A name sake, such joy!

Like my dad always said,

“Keep trying till it’s a boy!”

You were a devote woman.

Praying on your bare knees.

Living life for the others,

While they did as they pleased.

They borrowed your money.

Many stayed at your house.

Entertaining the drunkards,

Such a great 50’s spouse…

We almost lost you,

That dark, rainy night.

The car dragged you a block.

As you pulled from “the light.”

Many years have passed,

Since she left with my love.

I still hear her sweet whispers,

Drifting down from above.

I love being Grandmother.

Mine did it so well.

Her kindness and courage,

To grandchildren, I will tell…

social commentary
1

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.