Poets logo

Grandmother

Abuela ( My nickname for her)

By Berry DrivenPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Grandmother
Photo by Vladimir Soares on Unsplash

Ever since I can remember, I've called my grandmother Abuela. At the time I didn't know it was a Spanish word. We have no Spanish origins. Once I learned that Abuela is a grandmother in Spanish I thought it was hilarious that I named my grandmother grandmother. Everyone thought it was cute so it stuck. I miss her so much so here's my poem dedicated to her.

Speak to me Abuela

Reveal the mysteries of life

As I Lay in your lap

And sit by your feet

Absorbing your wisdom, light, and love

____________________

Encourage me abuela

Every time I visit

You fix my favorite meals and reassure me

That I can achieve what I want

______________

Laugh for me Abuela

Let your musical tone lift my spirits

As I listen to your jokes and tell you mine

___________

Dance for me Abeula

As the conga beats to the rhythm

We rouse the spirits of our ancetors

____________

Wait for me Abuela

Although you have moved to the great beyond

We are forever connected

I see you in my dream

I commune with you

I forever live in honor of you

love poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Berry Driven

I was told I talk too much when I was younger so I started to write.

I know if you read, you wanted to know.

There is so much to learn and explore in this world.

I focus on sharing my human experience.

Let's get inspired.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    I love this so much. I miss my abuela! So well written!

  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Such a loving connection. My kids also use a term for my mother, Babushka, which we have no heritage link to, but it stuck, all the same.

  • This was such a wonderful tribute to your Abuela! I only knew of the word Abuela and it's meaning when I started watching Jane the Virgin. Now I'm curious how yoi came up with the nickname Abuela when you even know it was Spanish for grandmother, lol!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Wonderful! Fantastic and emotional!

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Beautiful and I can relate as I still miss my Nonna lots!

Berry DrivenWritten by Berry Driven

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.