Poets logo

Grandma's Road

A path I walked daily

By Heather CumboPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Grandma's Road
Photo by Clint Patterson on Unsplash

"Where are you going?" Grandma asked.

"Taking a walk," I answered.

"In this wind?"

"Wind's good for you," I said.

"It clears out the cobwebs of the mind."

"Better leave the cobwebs alone," she said.

"There will be nothing left when they're gone."

I've walked the path many times

in my years.

Since I was a child

when the road was gravel.

The bridge was wooden

and pretty scary.

The county came

and paved it all.

But it was still desolate,

so I could walk undisturbed.

Grandma would fuss:

"Wear a scarf."

"Look out for cars."

"Check yourself for ticks."

Still I walked daily,

sometimes two or three times

and always returned home

to Grandma.

Now Grandma is gone

and her house is sold.

There's no reason to walk that road anymore.

I have a husband now

and daughter

and my own house.

But I carry in my heart

a country road

and a white farmhouse

and a special old lady.

I'll always have a home with Grandma.

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Heather Cumbo

I once tried to major in Theatre, but ended up going back to my first love, which is Creative Writing. I am a huge bookworm and film buff. I also like theatre (the costume department), classic rock and folk music, and trying new things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    So lovely <3 Also love the humour in the dialogue

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Dang, Grandma is savage! 😂 Really loved this whole piece though, great job!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautifully told. I have such fond memories of my grandma as well.

  • Ryan Smith2 years ago

    Wonderfully told, I love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.