Poets logo

Gordian Knot

reduced to misleading anomalies

By Anna TorresPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1
Gordian Knot
Photo by Josué AS on Unsplash

Take my hand and lead me astray. We couldn't be redeemed even if we wanted to. I wish I had watched my step before the landmine eventually detonated. You had your victory no matter the cost. I've fought this battle knowing I had already lost. With every tear, there was a new scar you gave to me. If this was game, you would have won the trophy. I followed the rules only for you to alter my fate. I miss the oblivious days and ignorant nights. Where you pieced the jagged edges back together but this glue is wearing thin. What's left for me that you haven't already spent? Rip off the camouflage and see yourself for what you really are. Incompetence at the highest level, weaponized against me. There's a weight I hope will lift off of me come death. I should say my lamentations and be done with this. A future that grew dimmer with each passing year. You won't rectify anything that you claim is not your fault. I wouldn't swallow the antidote because I was not aware I had been poisoned. I have to revise my goals since they no longer revolve around you. Correcting my trajectory so I can undo you. What is the remedy to make me whole again? Classic manipulation from a textbook narcissist. If I could hold up a mirror, you would only adore yourself. Insanity welcomes me back every time. You can't prove yourself right but you do every night. Spinning lies and theories until they've contorted to your vision. Gaslighting is a perfection you've mastered. You've ruined my sense of well-being. Lies breeding more lies, vomiting up deception. This is my unholy confession. I've grown bitter from holding up this house of straw. A fragile dwelling that's worn down and about to become dirt. I will allow it to return to its former roots. You have my blessing to die now and I hope you feel everything.

heartbreaksurreal poetrysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so relatable as I've been with a narcotics before. It was such a terrible experience. All that manipulation and gaslighting!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.