Poets logo

GOODBYE TRUMP

A Breakup Letter

By Lisa BrasherPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
GOODBYE TRUMP
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear John,

I am breaking up with you.

It is not the hardest thing to do.

I knew from the start,

You were bad for my heart.

To me I must remain true!

There are so many reasons

To break up with you.

I may not have enough ink

to see this through.

In the beginning,

You threatened to put up a wall.

Instead of a wall,

That plan hit a big stall.

You promised to win my heart,

No matter the cost.

But instead all that happened

Was an opportunity lost.

Everyone warned me that you were pure evil,

That you would make an entrance

That would end in upheaval.

But I ignored the warnings,

Because I thought your love was regal.

Instead your feelings for others turned medieval.

At times they even bordered on illegal.

You were compared to a weasel,

Or my favorite, a boll weevil!

Your orange hair is a ghastly hue.

One would think with your money,

You could have a stylist

Right on cue.

*Do not get me started

On that day glow skin tone.

Surely a makeup artist

Can get you out of that zone.

Your expression is a permanent frown.

It makes my stomach turn upside down.

Not once in four years

Have I ever seen you smile.

It is almost as if

Happiness went out of style!

And the yelling, oh, the yelling!

It makes my skin crawl anew.

There is no telling

Why you think yelling

Will make others' listen to you!

*Your words they once dazzled,

But now you seem frazzled.

Your promises once sizzled,

But now they have fizzled.

*Lies and false accusations

Have left us all weary.

Your mental insanity

Makes us all teary.

*You stand on top of your mountain

And proclaim,

"I can do what I want!"

Again and again.

A splish splash fall into a fountain

Would bring those juvenile words

To an end!

A fall would send you

Crashing into that mountain!

*Your crass words on social media

Have caused much division.

As quick as you can hire,

Your staff runs from your tunnel vision.

Why, even the media venues themselves

Shake their heads,

And shut down the vitriol

We have all come to dread.

*Your lack of diversity

Among your tribe

Has caused much adversity

And a negative vibe.

*You rant on and on

About an illness disappearing.

Instead you come down with it,

And karma has us cheering.

A mask!

Wear a mask, says you.

Do as I say,

Not as I do!

Says you too.

And all the while

The rest of the world laughs,

And points their finger.

This is a Leader they ask?

He is a real humdinger!

Now your time has come to an end.

It is time for you to leave.

But you will not bend.

Your stubbornness and arrogance

Make me want to heave.

So you think you are sly as a fox

For inciting a riot?

You are more likely

To end up in a pine box

You daft pirate!

Without further adieu, dear John,

I wish you an un- fondly farewell!

AMERICA

*Dear Readers,

Thank you for taking the time to read my story. I appreciate your time and loyalty more than you know. This was an assigned topic, not my own political agenda. I had such fun writing it because I could use my own authentic creativity and not have to worry about being politically correct like on social media or the Thanksgiving table. So I hope you enjoyed it for how it was intended. It is a funny take on the end of a four year era. No hate mail please as this may or may not reflect my personal views, and I do not have a fan mail address anyway! Cheers to a new era!

Lisa Brasher

Freelance Writer

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Brasher

Start writing...I am a retired teacher. I taught elementary school for 30 years. I have written. short. stories and poems . I. am. looking. to. become. a full. time writer. . I live. in ,Houston Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.