Poets logo

HOME IS WHERE THE COMFORTS ARE

MY RETREAT

By Lisa BrasherPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
HOME IS WHERE THE COMFORTS ARE
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

A house is just a word is just a word to me.

Add kind people, furry friends, comfortable belongings, my best friend and loving partner for life

And a home is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add a diverse town, a musical street name, friends for neighbors, a safe haven

And Willowbend Lane is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add violet-blue, majestic mountains, snow-capped peaks, gushing waterfall rivers, a woodsy lodge retreat

And the Rocky mountains is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add crystal blue skies, crispy, golden leafed Aspens, the spicy scent of pine trees, a babbling stream

And Colorado is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add the tinny sound of a windmill blade blowing in the wind, the creak of wooden stairs, the screech and slap of a screen door, and silence so deafening

And the farm is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add the roar of the ocean, the feel of gritty sand between my toes, the look of opalescent seashells in the sunlight

And the beach is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add the roar of 75,000 screaming fans, a sea of orange and blue, the sharp scent of popcorn and beer

And the stadium is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add crisp, air dried sheets, the mournful cooing of a morning dove, my dad's melodious voice

And Dawson Street is where I want to be.

A house is just a word to me.

Add the feel of a wet tongue, the warmth of family and friends, blissful moments of food, drink and laughter, a peaceful place to find my center

And this home is where I want to be!

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Lisa Brasher

Start writing...I am a retired teacher. I taught elementary school for 30 years. I have written. short. stories and poems . I. am. looking. to. become. a full. time writer. . I live. in ,Houston Texas.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.