Poets logo

Goodbye stranger

A self-inflicted heartbreak

By Andie EmersonPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
Stranger

I said goodbye to you tonight.

Now I have to live with the fact that I pulled this trigger, each letter giving way to the pressure of my trembling fingers.

My head arched over the screen

G

My legs made of clay, melting into the seems of the seat.

o

My arms, sticks of steel bent against my core.

o

My mind heavy with doubt,

d

guilt,

b

memories anxiously waiting to fade.

y

My chest carrying a scorching mass,

burnt crumbs plunging into the depths of my stomach.

e

Now I have to live with the pain of a

powdered,

gritty heart.

Now I have to stand tall,

and fight the urge

of pressing

H

e

y

(Forever hoping you break first.)

CONTENT WARNINGsad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Andie Emerson

Queer. Awkward. An anxious wreck, but firm believer in self-work.

Authenticity & progress over illusion & perfectionism.

Makes a living working in home improvement.

C

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 months ago

    This should have been a top story. Really great poem

  • Oh boy, that urge to send 'hey' is sooo real. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.