Poets logo

Goodbye

I wish

By Anathi BunganiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Wistfully thinking

as my ship begins sinking

Memories of you start fading

With the last full shovel into your grave

Sadness hitting me like a wave

You are gone and I can't be saved.

Your laughter rings at the back of my ear

Alerting me of the reality that I fear

Illusions of the sound of your voice I can no longer hear

Your vibrant smile gone for the dead

My torn heart that I can't mend

Refuses to accept that this is the end.

I will sit on the sand and imagine your face in the waves.

I can still smell your scent on your robe in the shelves,

They look at me warily full of pity at myself.

Can't the heavens grant me another chance?

A chance to look at your life-filled eyes and say "Good bye."

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anathi Bungani

I was born and bred in Tabankulu, a small town in the Eastern Cape province in South Africa. I was born on 10 June 1999 and I am a writer. I used to recite poems in High School too. Please rate, share and tip my work. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.