Poets logo

Gone in a Flash

Love at first sight

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
20
Photo by Ron Lach from Pexels

I caught a fleeting glimpse of him at a crowded party.

Velvety, chocolate skin,

As tall, dark, and handsome as a dream.

My heart was dancing double time.

My flesh tingled.

My feet were on wings.

Then, he was gone in a flash.

*

I wandered the crowd,

Searching for my future lover,

My potential soulmate,

My would-be husband.

He had truly vanished.

Dejected, I dragged myself to my car,

Scanning across the road in vain.

I departed.

*

All week, I felt half of me was missing.

No dance in my heart.

No tingle on my flesh.

No lightness in my step.

Attempting to lose the funk,

I attended a pool party.

Confident in my best swimsuit,

I slid into the shallow end,

Enjoying the refreshing, rejuvenating water.

I submerged, feeling my disappointment from last week wash away.

*

I emerged,

And there he was, on the diving board.

His body surpassed expectations -

Toned and glistening.

He did a forward flip, landing with little splash.

Then, he was gone in a flash,

Under the water.

He popped up next to me,

His smile making

My heart dance in double time,

My flesh tingle,

Giving my feet wings.

Before long, he was my lover, my soulmate, my husband.

Time has flown by in a flash.

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/501588477261241504/

love poems
20

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.