Poets logo

golden hues fall slow

senses

By JessiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
golden hues fall slow
Photo by Ümit Bulut on Unsplash

Before The Sun took her rest on Saturday evening

I heard two wood thrushes singing a melody

Whilst waiting for my tea to steep I watched

Golden hues fall slow

Gently behind the treetops

They sounded so sweet, so at peace

And for a time, I was too

The gold turned red, then pink, then blue

And I gazed quietly as the tea leaves brewed

My fingers flipped the edges of my favorite book

The one about the deer and the boy named Took

The paper was fraying just a little here and there

But a well-worn book is a story told well

My tea was strong and I poured cream to taste

Stirred it four times 'round before I began to pace

I knew you'd be home a quarter past four

But The Sun had gone to sleep on us once more

When The Moon appeared I started to cry

I knew then something wasn't right

The air was cold, and it smelled of snow

But to your parents' house, I had to go

My stomach ached, and my head was a rock

On the door, I knocked, I knocked, and I knocked

You were there, but I never saw your face

Didn't even hear your voice or feel your embrace

Your mother told me all I needed to know

With another guy, you decided to go

Now it is Thursday, and the birds sound the same

Only their song of joy causes me pain

The birds are too chipper

My tea is too bitter

The sun is too bold

And my book is too old

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.