Poets logo

Gold.

what keeps me up at night.

By Alex BarbuPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Gold.

Gold’s threaded through your hair

And woven in your eyes.

It’s carved within your bones,

And written on your thighs.

Gold’s wrapped around your neck,

And hanging off your ears.

Gold’s shining of your skin

Throughout the months and years.

Gold keeps me up at night,

When I can’t close my eyes.

Gold’s what I tried to fight

I drowned myself in lies.

The Gold that I denied,

The Gold that stole my heart,

The Gold for which I cried,

Whenever we’d depart.

It took me way too long

To notice your Gold soul,

And I ignored your song

That made me feel so whole.

I hope it’s not too late

For you to fall in love-

For us to both create

A Gold shine from above.

Gold are the words you say,

Gold is your gorgeous smile

It’s gold that made me stay,

And I’ll be here a while.

I want to be with you

And drown in all your Gold.

Want you to be my view

Until we both grow old.

And when we do, I swear

I will not leave your side.

The Gold shines from your hair.

The Bonnie to my Clyde.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.