Poets logo

Going Through The Motions

Cursed, Absurd Lucidity

By YonathanJPublished 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
1
Going Through The Motions
Photo by Scott Webb on Unsplash

I've been obsessing about success quite a lot lately.

Isn't it just chasing after my own shadow?

From dreaming, to working hard, to achieving my goal,

what then? What then, of the fall from great heights?

*

At last, recognition, praise, admiration!

Yet how empty, distant the acclamations;

A moment, an hour, a month later?

Realizing the path trumps the outcome tenfold, hundredfold!

*

Fantasizing about the seemingly impossible,

about that all-important idea, intoxicating.

Not at all the same as a bored confused dog,

barking and chasing after cars, one after the other

*

How absurd are any goals, when we dare face lucidity.

An empty life sprinkled with a few shining medals

akin to a night sky, over the chasm, the overwhelming

dread that is our repetetive everyday lives

*

Of hiding away at home, paralysed and numb,

escaping ourselves, our true nature, for mere shadows on a wall

A promotion, at last recognition, finishing a project

or mastering a skill, climbing that hill... Surely you jest

*

Strolling the frozen road, in the dead of night,

I gaze at the houses, lit and warm, I picture these people

hiding away in comfort and lies, not even alive,

and walking down under the few stars that shine through

I face the tall spiked wall that is human nature;

to go through the motions, whatever happens, for that

is all we can do, comes success or death

artStream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetry
1

About the Creator

YonathanJ

I've been an avid reader for as long as I remember, and a writer since childhood. Crafting stories fascinate me. I write to share my outlook on life, that is often taken too seriously. Hope you enjoy my writings

www.youtube.com/@YonathanJ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Yes. Yet the adventure of life is enthralling; sometimes tragic or annoying; yet we continue on. Nice piece!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.