Poets logo

Going Off Again

Poem 12 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
3

I pound these keys so

Fuckin’ hard that the

Device moves across

The desk and I’ll

Have to reposition

It back to the center

Of my desk.

{

I wonder how loud it

Sounds in the middle

Of the night

Cracking life into

The dead silence?

..

Sometimes there is

Only stillness

{

Or these fingers press

On the keyboard slowly.

..

It is daytime now.

{

Though outside of

Here the sound of voices

And cars fill the

Ambience it does not

Lower the decibel of

These letter-heads

Beating scars onto

The sheet nore does it

Soften the blows which

Cause this machine to

Jump to the left.

{

My work is not gentle

But it is soothing.

}

Filter to April 13, 2017

slam poetry
3

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I like it!! Beating scars; not gentle but soothing. Great job.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.