Poets logo

April 13, 2017

Poem 13 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

April 13th, 2017

Upon our last meeting, I hope it

Didn’t bother you at the fact

That I didn’t say

“I love you”

Before we took our separate paths

Once again.

Not only had it not felt right to

Use that phrase again, but you

Should already know I do.

There will always be a place for

You in one of my cardio chambers.

Although there are others who’ve

Been stored the same way your

Spot is no less unique.

{

Upon our last meeting I hope

It didn’t bother you that I

Hadn’t asked

“Do you want to try and

Work this out?”

Before you hugged me, climbed in

The car and went to work.

Not only did I express the fact

That I miss you via instant

Message the week before, I know

It’s hard for you to relay your

Feelings and I believe you

Would’ve said no.

{

It is what it is now aside

From the what I coulda, shoulda,

Said and done

{

Someone else is slowly coming into

The picture, and she may have the

Chance to occupy the new opening

I’ve made in my heart.

{

I’m not moving on now out of spite

Or to forget what we once were.

I’m only moving on because that is

The natural order of things.

{

I don’t want it to hurt you if

This new pursuit blooms into a

Flower.

Our rose might have only lasted

Three months shy of a year. Just

Be at ease – you gave me a new way of

Looking at the soil

And you will always mean something

To me

}

Filter to I Fight Certain Parts of Myself

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Oh wow, the ending blew me away - so good!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.