Poets logo

Go With the Flow

A poem about discovering self-reliance

By KJ AartilaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10

Just because you appear unscathed, does that mean you were untouched? Maybe not physically, but the internal scars run deep. Like a river, they cut a path chosen only for ease of travel. No resistance; shaping stones. The flow is natural. Self-serving.

Now flows a river of slippery stones that fell from your spine. They’re tricky stepping stones which offer guarded crossing; unreliable. I’ll try to use them anyway to get from this dirty bank to the other, lighter side. I’ll use my own arms to balance, and the sunlight to guide me. Okay. I will start at your tributary to reach my delta. Do you feel me traveling over your weak spine?

inspirational
10

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.