Poets logo

Glorious Sensations

No sight so wonderful

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished about a year ago 2 min read
2
Glorious Sensations
Photo by Jacob Rank on Unsplash

When I hear her voice, I feel my heartbeat increase - rapidly fluttering in my chest. Beating out a rhythm I pray shall not surcease. Sweeter than the happy song of a robin on a cool spring morn. Her voice more musical than any song ever born.

Her breath tickles my ear, amusing me. Bringing a flush of heat to my cheeks and a rise elsewhere I try to hide that she not see. I breathe in the taste of air that was once in her lungs. On it’s wings I rise to a higher spot than a ladder with countless rungs.

As her fingers touch my cheek in sweet caress I lean into her palm. The feel of her fingers like the finest silk bringing to my soul a healing balm. As I reach forth and move an errant lock of her hair, my fingertips tingle, sizzle, delighting in it’s fine texture so fair.

Her very presence causes a room to glow with extra light. In the darkest of night the feel of her nearness makes my skin feel tight. No matter what beauteous wonder of nature my eyes fall upon… None compare to her eyes, her face. I am her moon, she is my sun.

Her skin smells of sweet ripe peaches, strawberry vines and honeysuckle. Not the sweetest rose nor magnolia blossoms bring more fragrant delight to a room, causing my knees to buckle. My nostrils distend to inhale her sweet scent as she draws near. Her absence from my senses my only true fear.

I may see the sun rise in beauteous splendor or the moon ebb and wane with my sight; My skin may feel the coolness of a spring breeze on my summer kissed skin or my fingers the silken smoothness of an expensive shirt; I may hear the delighted bark of a devoted dog when I come home or the mournful song of a whippoorwill in the dark; I may smell the sweet incense of cherry blossoms in bloom or a fresh baked cake just out of grandma’s oven. My tongue may savor the taste of the finest chocolate or the tang of a a ripe orange just plucked from a tree. But of all the things this world offers to our senses, none compare to the sight, taste, smell, feel, or sound of her. She is my universe of glorious sensation.

Emily. I love you.

nature poetrylove poems
2

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.