Poets logo

Gloomy It's Raining

A great time to complain

By Hadayai Majeed aka Dora SpencerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Gloomy It's Raining
Photo by reza shayestehpour on Unsplash

It's raining and gloomy outside

Great day to complain

I hate being a Type 2 Diabetic

I hate being over weight

I hate having high blood pressure

How about being grateful?

I love my new gray hair

I love my new independence from a 9 to 5

I love having some money in the bank

It is so easy to complain

Allah returns my soul to me every morning

Rainy days cause me to be sad at some point

I am a vet

Many vets are killing themselves

Too many young people are killing themselves

Too many young girls hate themselves

In times of great conflict there can be light

A babies smile

Soothing cooing sounds babies make

Puppies and kittens who play without a care

Love is still alive in our world

I mean love not just sex

Old people who hold hands after 40 years of marriage

A wife who sits at her husbands sick bed all night

Then accompanies him to hospice

Sits there days, weeks, months until the end

Walks, rides behind his coffin as her last duty

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Hadayai Majeed aka Dora Spencer

Hadayai Majeed writes short, intriguing stories in many genres. The Joy of Islam series and Pieces of Me with Company are collections of her diverse works and those of others. Each book is unique always leaving the reader wanting for more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.