Poets logo

Glitter in my Eyes

A life in Melbourne Lockdown

By Nikolina KlasanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Melbourne from above, 2016, by me

The sun rises and sets

Gold, glorious and sublime

It knows no limits

It knows no bounds

Only the cycle of infinite time

My walls close in

My cage shut tight

There are days I feel lost

There are days I have no will to fight

Still,

There's glitter in my eyes

As I stare at the dull skies

Holding on to hope

Can be a peculiar matter

In times of struggle and desperation

That's all that I can gather

I've watched people break

And seen others hold them high

I've witnessed dreams shatter

And seen pieces picked up

By both you and I

Which is why,

There's glitter in my eyes

As I stare at the dull skies

Holding hands may be forbidden

But that hasn't stopped us

To continue shielding each other

And inspire some form of normal living

In a world of indefinite change

My heart still remains warm

Seeing my fellow good souls

Shelter each other from the storm

No matter what,

I'll carry glitter in my eyes

While we all break from those

Dull skies

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Nikolina Klasan

Full-time dreamer with a passion for words. I want to use this space to project my thoughts, and resonate with as many hearts as I can through the stories I share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.