Poets logo

Iridescence

Once a dream

By Nikolina KlasanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Iridescence
Photo by Gul Zeynep Genc on Unsplash

I held myself in the palm of my hand

And stared at my reflected shade,

I watched myself cling on tight

In hopes that if I do,

I'll eventually find some light.

But no,

It was just black...grey...and white.

I took a breath and entered the cage

Faced with vivid hues

Instead of my shades.

They weren't warm but rather, tore me apart.

Until I was naked, bare and filled with fright.

It didn't stop there,

It swallowed me whole

I was trapped, blind and felt nothing but cold.

With eyes closed I quivered quietly,

"Please, someone...something...set me free,"

I took a breath and entered the cage

Faced with vivid hues

Instead of my shades.

Without any haste I made a choice,

I needed to rip my way out,

If I wanted to find my own voice.

Through flesh and bone I pulled away

Because it was time to leave,

The black, white and grey

I held myself in the palm of my hand

And awed at my reflected Jade

I saw myself fly unsight

Because I finally

created my own light.

inspirational
10

About the Creator

Nikolina Klasan

Full-time dreamer with a passion for words. I want to use this space to project my thoughts, and resonate with as many hearts as I can through the stories I share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.