Poets logo

Glass Half-Full

Or Half-Empty, a poem

By Abby JacobsenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Glass Half-Full
Photo by Margarita Zueva on Unsplash

Filling the glass is a lesson in futility.

I pour from the bottle, I drink from the glass,

and neither stays very full or very empty for long.

Yet I continue to fill the glass and drain it.

Fill the glass and drain it.

Fill the glass and drain it.

Neither stays very full

or very empty for long.

I fill the glass and drain it.

I sit and am still.

Except for the steady

drain and fill.

Drain and fill.

A lesson in futility.

I watch a wall,

the paint bubbles.

I pour from the bottle,

I drink from the glass.

I drain the glass and fill it.

Even though it never stays

very full or very empty

for long.

***

Thank you for taking the time to read my poetry. If you enjoyed please consider liking, subscribing, and/or sharing to socials and with friends.

If you enjoyed this poem you may also enjoy this one.

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Abby Jacobsen

An Oregon based artist, reader, and writer.

Please like, subscribe, and share! Tips are always greatly appreciated!

I can also be found on Instagram, TikTok, and Tumblr!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Your writing was so effortless, my takeaway was so many metaphors. Good job!

  • Veronica Coldironabout a year ago

    I love that you use alliteration to build rhythm and that the half full/half empty part of it comes to a nice full on smack on the cheek to wake up at the end. This was very well done

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Very nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.