Poets logo

Give Up. Sacrifice. Adopt. Achieve.

A Poem for Lent

By Hannah Kawira HartwellPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I give up chocolate so I don't get fat.

I abstain from Facebook to stop wasting time.

I banish shopping to keep my money mine.

I withhold judgments to keep people happy.

I sacrifice chocolate for the good of my body.

I let go of social media to focus on good works.

I limit spending to save for the future.

I censor what I say to keep my mind pure.

I adopt good nutrition to feel healthy and strong.

I embrace productivity to make my time matter.

I guard my money for a fulfilling future.

I speak only kindness to encourage my peers.

I want to try harder. I want to achieve

A result that drives me to be the best I can be.

But how can I listen to don't, stop, give up, no?

Why can't I say yes, begin, take up, and go?

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Hannah Kawira Hartwell

A writer, actor, musician and activist from Wales. I love poetry, travel, theatre and music, telling the stories that people want to hear, and having a meaningful impact on the people my words interact with!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.