Poets logo

give me warmth

from march of 2021

By emiliePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

it’s a new day,

but my limbs still feel heavy

just like my tear ducts

and puffy red eye bags.

i cannot be hungry;

my stomach is full of sorrow

that i swallowed gasping for breath

between sobs and

panic attacks.

the night must not be over

my mind is still haunted by the shadow

of last night's perturbation.

but here i am,

lying in bed,

listening to the toll of my alarm

beckon my sunken eyes from

the back of my skull.

how does one rise when

the gravity of the situation causes

the stars, the sun, the sky,

to collapse all on my twin bed frame?

but i must tell myself:

“don’t fret that the sky is falling/

why else do you think the sun rises each morning?”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

emilie

twenty one

i will always be the shadow above your bed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.