Poets logo

Girl's Best Friend

Preferably something thoughtful.

By Lauren GirodPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Created with Artbreeder (artbreeder.com)

Zirconia, cubic. I told you

you e-

xactly

what I didn’t want when it comes to engagement rings. You’re

virtuous to a fault,

unable

to ask me a

serious question. Did you want to take this

relationship further?

Quit playing games if you’ve decided that I’m not the

person of your dreams.

Only thinking of last minute

notions that

might please me

like I’m somehow complacent with

kindness, faked.

Just—

I want to know

how you can

go on, proposing to me with this.

For-real.

Every other stone - any other stone would have been

desirable over something so easily

Cracked. Maybe we need to

Breakup.

Ask again later.

heartbreaklove poemsslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Lauren Girod

Undergraduate at the University of Georgia in English Creative Writing, 2024 | Sigma Tau Delta International Honors Society Member

Lover of fantasy and poet by choice - also a cynic and comedian.

https://linktr.ee/last_call

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.