Poets logo

Ghost

A poem about unfinished business

By Frank Ezernack IIIPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Ghost
Photo by Mat Napo on Unsplash

Tires screeching, two vehicles crashing

Sirens are blaring and lights are flashing.

What is happening, what's this strange feeling?

I wonder as I stare at this ambulance ceiling.

Slowly my eyes close and it all fades to black,

I've been here before now it's time to go back.

They're trying to save me but they're too little to late,

I've already crossed over now I stand at the gate.

I cannot leave yet, with god as my witness,

I will return to the Earth and finish my business.

So I go back, but with no body to host,

I wander the world as a lonely lost ghost.

That bump in the night, that chill in the air,

Is me letting you know that I am still there.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Frank Ezernack III

I'm a production manager at a pallet factory in Pennsylvania. I write poetry in my free time as a hobby and a passion. It's an honor to be able to share my work with you all! I write on a wide variety of subjects and themes. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.