Poets logo

Getting Serious

Progression...

By Darrell General IIPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

The pain of my past has no business in the present. I can’t live with hope for the future if I can’t allow myself to let go of the past. Growing is the byproduct of shedding the hull of our former selves. Letting go of our former short comings is the only way to allow ourselves to be uplifted and see that we are greater than our faults. Reconciling with myself is a healthy practice, restoring inner peace and harmony. Love for myself is paramount to have external healthy relationships for if I can’t love and respect myself how can I with just consciousness extend this grace to others. I take several moments out of each day to sit with my thoughts and circumvent my habits and practices. Placing myself under scope with the same lens I use when scrutinizing others, I must hold myself to the same accountability that I seem to condemn others to. If I feel sorrow from chastising myself and don’t wish to feel this despondency, why should I subject others to its influence. I make plenty of mistakes because like others I am no perfect being, I am no greater or less than the next. I make effort to repent and rectify my mistakes, with the practice of seeking clarity I am growing closer to be the best version of myself. What do I stand for? Without sound principles I will allow myself to be susceptible to unjust notions. What efforts will realign peace and harmony to be the cornerstone of our lives? Do I uphold respect and consideration for myself and others? I love the peace that great bonds bring into my life, the rapport supports stability mentally and emotionally, being a part of a group having others to share with and seek advisement from for ordeals that may arise so that trying times may not claim me and hold me a victim of stress and depression. People who hold me accountable for my mistakes without chastising and belittling me, but with encouragement to improve, grow to be better and make more suitable decisions for a prospering lifestyle. I make strides for understanding, to not pass judgement on dissimilarity, I encourage within myself and others compassion to be more empathetic and patient towards others. Like those who came before and those after me in this lifetime, I have been through many trials & tribulations and they will continue as I progress through life. I seek God in my times of need, sometimes forgetting that he is always with me. I work through my hardships with the Lord by my side whether I acknowledge him or not. I am growing to keep his grace and support in the forefront of my mind and give him thanks and praise daily for everything that he has blessed me with.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Darrell General II

I enjoyed reading and writing as an adolescent, but I found myself astray from my passion as I grew older attempting to appease others and be amongst social groups I had no place. I'm getting reacquainted with my roots; times are changing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.