Poets logo

Getting old is not for wimps

Youthful:beautiful, just like thoughtful:memorable

By Alice FreistPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Experience > Exuberance

This is not what I imagined when I was 8.

I do not recognize the music of 48

Music, that is, the sound my bones make, but only when I move.

See! Since when is there is so much "silver amongst the gold" in my hairbrush?

Look! That shadow there, that is a - that is a- that is actually no shadow, that shadow is a goddamned

Wrinkle!

Does anybody know that tired, old fat lady? Seems like she is wearing my thoughts.

It seems I never thought I would be pleased, to get ID'd for alcohol and

I never thought that I would be confused, to have (somebody's kid, some kid) some cashier call me "ma'am"!

Hey, kid. LemmeTellYaSomething. Hey, kid.

I have earned every stripe and I own all these scars. Hey, kid! I would not trade my life for anybody's "easy."

Kid, I have lived interesting times.

Fought won lost laughed loved hated cried started finished healed hurt traveled returned

(worked hard, but look! I STILL have not worked this ass off!)

Several times I have languished. Lollygagged, late and lazy! But I don't recall any of it as

wasted time.

"Time spent with cats is never wasted."

Cats or not, neither one of those doctor fellas, not Freud not Einstein, they never said those words. They both get credit.

Time spent may be gone, but is it lost? (is she "losing it?" is she losing "it"?)

The judge said I got credit for time served. I served a little time, served helpings of time, overserved on serving time.

"Waste not, want not." I find out, that lost time was not a waste after all. I find out,

neither am I.

I don't get wasted any more, and I have never found myself because I have an excellent sense of

direction.

No, I did not plan this route, but it seems I have made my way and this destination

feels like home.

Make no mistake, kid. I am not done yet. (Not undone either, despite the occasional mental disarray)

I am not even close to done yet!

So heat me up, heat up this oven of life. I am not done, do not stick a fork in me. But if you reach

a fork in the road:

Take it! Take it all! Take it away, and never look back with regret like some grumpy old wrinkled grey-haired woman because

grumpy

is definitely not our color.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Alice Freist

Alice is deeply interested in many subjects. Astronomy, political theory, carpentry, motorcycling, classic punk rock, archeology, building sciences, art, and geology are just a few of the topics that keep her busy when she's not gardening.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.