Poets logo

Get Bent

I made you my everything and you acted like I was nothing, so just...

By Tanner PeifferPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1

I crippled your window pane forcefield

As acid leaked from your brain

And straight to the palm of my hand,

I caught the drips of yellow and red

That left a tattoo stain

But never blended to sunrise orange-

Stuck to themselves out of pain

***

Now you’re making out like I never knew you, like I never left a dent

When I had those words at the ready for you, before I even knew what they meant

Instead of a demon, I thought that you were a savior heaven-sent

In the past I asked you to straighten me out, now I’m asking you to get bent

***

An invasive species in my amygdala

Needs to be weeded out,

Spicy and sweet like ginger

But it covers me in doubt-

Replacing my native memories

With twisting roots of truth

That won’t let other species grow

To lighten up my mood

***

So have fun in your Shelby, keep watching his Roush

And keep on pretending you don’t think “Ouch,

I fucked up something good...”

‘Cause I’m taking my shoes and snuffing the torch

Of the flame I had for you-

I’ve been marked with burns, but I’ll heal the scorch

As you search for someone new

***

And you’ll pretend to love another

Then bleed your hand again-

Showing your cards that you only really loved yourself in the end

And I’ll pretend I never saw my bones outside my skin

When you callously tried to forge a loss out of what I thought was a win

***

I’ve gotten my prescription for a dose of solitude

And I’ll use it to forget-

Our passion, our blood, our lust and our feud

That left me grief-beset

***

So have fun in the nightclub, pretend to like girls

But we both know what I saw

I hope you get flashed with the guilt of the world

Whenever you hear a raven’s caw

***

And you’re still making out like I never knew you, like I never left a dent

When I had an “I love you” at the ready for you, before I even knew what it meant

I truly thought that you would be a savior heaven-sent

In the past I asked you to straighten me out, now I’m asking you to get bent

fact or fictionheartbreaksad poetryslam poetrysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 9 months ago

    I felt the sting of a broken dream, humility being regained after a meaningful seduction. You are very young and very open. I miss that quality, that time when I wrote without fear, just with desire to express. Keep writing please!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.