Poets logo

gathering my experiences

And not letting go.

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
gathering my experiences
Photo by Eric Rothermel on Unsplash

When it ends like SILENCE and chaos

In hearts and minds of the young, middle, and old

I gather my experiences like medals, for proof

1. A kiss on the cheek from a new queer friend (I doubt I'll see again)

2. A hug from my new mother that held a sign (If you need a supportive mom, I'll be her)

3. Running with big eyes, everyone dodging each other (no one knowing where the sound came from)

I put a hand to my once pink lipsticked cheeks

I pull in my arms to try to feel the warmth of my new mother as I wish for the phone call of my old one

I take my fresh tears to the news

I hang another flag in my room. I watch another "blonde woman and brunette woman" film on my phone. I pick another shirt that looks right around my chest. I message a person and hold my breath till they reply; I'm hoping I was smooth. I play some songs. I read a book. I workout. I facetime my friend. I spill juice on the counter. I look into college again. I make a new drink, then I pour it out. I perfect a new dish. I breathe. In. Exhale. Out. I let the days go by. I let the weeks go by. I let the months go by. I keep going. I keep going. I keep going. I don't change. I change a little. I learn. I grow. I go back and forth. I'm angry about: the world, breakups, stubbing my toe. I'm happy about: the world, first dates, landing a new trick on my board. I---

What?

You thought I'd go back into hiding?

No. I exist.

Here's my proof.

EmpowermentIdentityPride MonthCommunitylistinspirational
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.