Poets logo

Gaslit

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
Image by: tatianazaets

What is this shit?

You wanna sit there and tell me it’s me that’s causing this rift?

I mean, honestly, don’t do this. Own your own issues, don’t let this continue,

don’t mess with my brain and tell me I’m to blame for your insecurities - and let me think it’s me.

Seriously, is this legit? I’m being gaslit? But why? I don’t understand. Things were so good, I thought I knew where we stood, but now you unload on to me,

I just feel so heavy.

Have you even heard? Heard your own words that have hurt? How can this be? I don’t deserve this - not me.

I gave you what you need, and now my heart bleeds because you stabbed me so hard, so sharp, so abruptly,

I think that I must be to blame - but I’m not, god dammit!

So now my heart closes, it won’t open again, not like it’s supposed to, I don’t think it’s gonna mend, not this time - pfft, fuckin’ men,

I mean sorry guys, I don’t mean to imply that it’s all of you, it’s not, I just forgot momentarily,

but really, seriously, what is this shit, to be gaslit?

Far out, now all the doubts creep in, I have to start from scratch again - but I don’t think I can, not this time, the rebuild is too big a climb,

but I gotta try, or do I?

sad poetryperformance poetry
10

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    Yes you do have to try!

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I think I am permanently gaslit. My father did it to my mother, to me and t seems to permeate all that goodness we crave. I feel your words with much empathy.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I've been gaslit before and it sucks! I hope you're okay 🥺 Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Brenton Fabout a month ago

    Nothing like getting kicked when you're down! Chin up because you are stronger than any of that! Another excellent piece Jess!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    🤔 only when you are ready…. very descriptive of pain of upside relationship.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.